Truck Accident FAQs

Every day, millions of trucks drive the highways of the United States, delivering everything from oil to groceries. There are almost 500,000 trucking accidents every year, and about 5,000 of these result in fatalities.

When you’re one of the people involved in an accident with an 18-wheeler, it’s important to know what’s going to happen next. Victims of 18-wheeler accidents have many concerns. Here are answers to some of the most common questions McAllen trucking accident attorneys are asked.

Who can be held liable in a truck accident lawsuit?

This depends on the facts of each individual case, but the liable parties can include: the truck driver; the trucking company; and truck and truck part manufacturers.

What kind of compensation could I receive from a truck accident claim?

How much you’re entitled to after an accident with an 18-wheeler depends on several factors, such as how severe your injuries are. You may be able to get compensation for damages including lost wages, medical bills, pain and suffering, and property damage.

What do I do if an insurance company offers me a settlement?

It’s very common for the trucking company’s insurance carrier to offer a quick settlement. While it may seem easier just to take their offer and be done with the case, it’s important to not agree to a settlement before having an attorney review your case.

Insurance companies are built to make money — not to help people. They have their bottom line in mind, not your health and well-being. An attorney can evaluate their offer and let you know if it is reasonable for the damages you have suffered.

If I was partially to blame for the accident, can I still file a lawsuit?

Accident victims who feel they were partially at fault for the truck accident often don’t even look into their legal options. However, in many cases, you may still be entitled to compensation. Before making a decision, it’s important to discuss your case with an experienced truck accident lawyer.

How long do I have to file a claim?

In Texas, the statute of limitations for filing a truck accident claim is 2 years. That means that if you do not file a lawsuit within 2 years of your accident, you likely will not be allowed to bring a claim at all. While there are rare exceptions to this rule, it’s far better to get help from a McAllen truck accident lawyer as soon as possible after your accident, rather than waiting until it might be too late.

If you’ve been injured in an 18-wheeler accident in McAllen, Texas, contact Raúl A. Guajardo today to schedule a free consultation.